From the Bible to banknotes

As a diversified industrial and retail group, Orell Füssli operates the core businesses: banknote and security printing, customised serial numbering of banknotes and security documents, and bookstores. Its publishing house, which grew out of the original book printing firm in 1519, exemplifies the rich heritage of this Swiss company. With a workforce of approximately 700 people and locations in five different countries, Orell Füssli has a turnover of around CHF 250 million and is listed on the Swiss stock market.

News

Orell Füssli Publishing: Beat Müller, CFO of Orell Füssli Holding, assumes management responsibility ad interim

Beat Müller, CFO of Orell Füssli Holding Ltd, is to assume management responsibility ad interim until further notice for Orell Füssli Publishing from…

Orell Füssli Holding: Solid half-year results 2019

• Security Printing: acquisition of new customers, profit at the previous year’s level • Zeiser: successful start of the new organisation focusing…

Daniel Link appointed as new CEO of the Orell Füssli Group

The Board of Directors of Orell Füssli Holding Ltd have appointed Daniel Link as the new CEO of the Orell Füssli Group. Mr Link will take up his…

Facts & Figures

  • 264.9

    Net revenues 2018
    in million CHF

  • 12.0

    EBIT 2018
    in million CHF
  • 884

    Employees
    as of December 2018

Divisions

Security Printing

As an exclusive supplier to the Swiss National Bank (SNB) and a renowned security printing specialist, Orell Füssli produces banknotes, identity documents, and securities. Further services include consulting on the technical design of security documents and print preparation. Thanks to its many years of experience, extensive technical know-how and state-of-the-art equipment, Orell Füssli is a world leader in quality and innovation.

Security Printing

Systems for encoding

Zeiser is an acknowledged and innovative specialist in high-precision numbering operations. It offers technologically advanced serial numbering solutions in the field of security printing. These include printing systems for alphanumeric characters and bar codes, electronic numbering and quality control systems, and software solutions for managing serial-numbered products.

Systems for encoding

Book Retailing

Orell Füssli Thalia AG is a joint venture of Orell Füssli Buchhandlungs AG and the German company Thalia Bücher GmbH. Under the Orell Füssli umbrella brand, its large-scale and specialist bookstores have established their position as the market leader in the German-speaking areas of Switzerland with an extensive bricks-and-mortar presence and skilled customer support. With its diverse online offering, its multichannel strategy is complemented by customised logistical and service operations for key account clients such as companies, schools and libraries.

Book Retailing

Publishing house

Publishing housePositioning itself as a traditional company with a 500-year history, Orell Füssli serves the German-speaking countries with a broad range of topics in the print and digital media field. The portfolio offered by its two publishing units includes both children`s books and non-fiction books, supplemented by renowned specialist publishing operations in the fields of learning media and standard legal works. Its latest products for both children and adults reinforce Orell Füssli Publishing’s market position as a high-quality Swiss supplier.

Publishing house

Von der Bibel bis zur Banknote

Als diversifizierte Industrie- und Handelsgruppe betreibt Orell Füssli die Kerngeschäfte: den Banknoten- und Sicherheitsdruck, die individualisierte Serialisierung von Banknoten und Sicherheitsdokumenten und den Buchhandel. Der 1519 aus der Buchdruckerei entstandene Buchverlag bildet den traditionsreichen Ursprung des Schweizer Unternehmens. Orell Füssli erzielt mit gut 700 Mitarbeitenden an seinen Standorten in 5 Ländern einen Umsatz von rund CHF 250 Mio. und ist an der Schweizer Börse kotiert.

Aktuelles

Zeiser GmbH: Verkauf Bereich Software vollzogen

Der Verkauf des bei Zeiser GmbH verbliebenen Bereichs Software Serialisierung/Track & Trace ist vollzogen

Generalversammlung genehmigt sämtliche Anträge des Verwaltungsrats

Die Aktionärinnen und Aktionäre der Orell Füssli Holding AG folgten an der Generalversammlung vom 15. Mai 2019 sämtlichen Anträgen des Verwaltungsrats…

Im 500. Jubiläumsjahr am Zürcher Sechseläuten

In Zürich-Wiedikon dreht sich alles um das älteste Zürcher Unternehmen: Orell Füssli ist Ehrengast am Zürcher Sechseläuten bei der Zunft zu Wiedikon…

Fakten & Zahlen

  • 264.9

    Nettoerlös 2018
    in Mio. CHF

  • 12.0

    EBIT 2018
    in Mio. CHF
  • 691

    Mitarbeitende
    Stand Dezember 2018
  •  

Divisionen

Sicherheitsdruck

Als Exklusivlieferant der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) und renommierter Sicherheitsdruckspezialist produziert Orell Füssli Banknoten, Ausweise und Wertschriften. Weiterführende Dienstleistungen umfassen auch die Beratung zur technischen Gestaltung von Sicherheitsdokumenten und die drucktechnische Vorbereitung. Dank langjähriger Erfahrung, grossem technischem Know-how und modernster Ausrüstung ist Orell Füssli weltweit führend in Qualität und Innovation.

Zum Sicherheitsdruck

Industrielle Systeme

Zeiser zeichnet sich als innovativer Spezialist für Hochpräzisions-Nummerierwerke aus. Er bietet technologisch anspruchsvolle Serialisierungslösungen im Sicherheitsdruckbereich an. Diese umfassen sowohl Drucksysteme für alphanumerische Zeichen und Barcodes als auch die elektronische Nummerierungs- und Qualitätskontrolle und Softwarelösungen für die Verwaltung serialisierter Produkte.

Zu Zeiser

Buchhandel

Die Orell Füssli Thalia AG ist ein Joint Venture der Orell Füssli Buchhandlungs AG und der deutschen Thalia Bücher GmbH. Unter der Dachmarke «Orell Füssli» haben sich ihre Gross- und Spezialbuchhandlungen mit einem umfangreichen stationären Sortiment und kompetenter Beratung als Marktführer in der Deutschschweiz etabliert. Ihre Multi-Channel-Strategie mit einem vielfältigen Online-Angebot wird durch massgeschneiderte Logistik- und Service-Dienstleistungen für Grosskunden wie Firmen, Schulen und Bibliotheken ergänzt.

Zum Buchhandel

Verlagsgeschäfte

Als Traditionsunternehmen mit 500-jähriger Geschichte positioniert sich der Orell Füssli Verlag mit einer breiten Themenpalette an Print- und digitalen Medien im deutschsprachigen Raum. Das Programm umfasst mit Kinderbüchern und Sachbüchern zwei Publikumsverlage, die von den renommierten Fachverlagen für Lernmedien sowie für juristische Standardwerke ergänzt werden. Aktuelle Inhalte für Gross und Klein stärken die Marktposition des Schweizer Qualitätsanbieters.

Zu Verlagsgeschäfte